Grant Thornton’s latest Asia Private Equity Insights 2020 finds that cautious sentiment prevails in the Asian private equity (“PE”) industry for 2020 amid rising economic and geopolitical uncertainties alongside slower global economic growth. The outbreak of novel coronavirus hit China hard, bringing economic activities in the world’s second-largest economy to a near standstill and spreading the knock-on effects across the globe. Nevertheless, the Chinese government has adopted an open attitude to welcome foreign investments by allowing the operations of foreign-controlled or wholly foreign-owned business in more sectors. Other Southeast Asian countries including Thailand and Vietnam, which serve as alternatives or additions to the current Chinese market, are also becoming increasingly attractive to PE firms in recent years.
 

The outbreak of novel coronavirus creates opportunities for new economy companies and healthcare sector

While the outbreak of the novel coronavirus could dampen economic growth in China and hamper fundraising activities in the short run, the unprecedented lockdown in the country is contributing to a change in consumption habit. As millions of people are staying home to combat virus, presenting a phenomenal opportunity for new economy companies including online medical consultation, online entertainment, online grocery shopping services and online education providers to acquire new users and boost their market penetration rates, thereby possibly helping shorten the investment cycle of PE investors.

Demand for healthcare services and pharmaceuticals also surged during the epidemic outbreak, further accelerating the growth of the emerging healthcare sector. Biotech companies racing to develop treatment for the novel strain of coronavirus and other critical diseases are set to get more government support and draw strong investment interest from private equity funds. With Chinese government’s on-going investments in promoting synthetic biology, biotechnology will be the leading sub-sector within the healthcare industry.

Private capital investment in Asia’s healthcare sector has grown significantly over the past decade as a growing middle class has created a strong demand for quality health. Barry Tong, Joint APAC Head of Transaction Advisory Services at Grant Thornton, said, “In spite of the uncertain and challenging market environment, PE firms can always figure out new opportunities out of challenges. Healthcare, especially biotechnology, will be a great trend to follow in the coming years. Co-investment strategies will help unlock future investment opportunities and spread the risk on buyouts of complex assets.”
 

Investors shift focus towards distressed assets for potentially attractive returns

As bad debt problems have come to the fore in the midst of sluggish global economy, the region has seen increasing interest of PE investors in acquiring companies in default or under bankruptcy protection at discounted prices. These distressed companies are becoming attractive acquisition targets, offering huge opportunities for investors or new shareholders to restructure the target’s business and make money from selling it at a premium later.

Mr. Tong said, “Economic uncertainty may prove to be an opportune moment for some PEs to invest in companies with great potentials at a lower price. Distressed deals are becoming a significant instrument for growth and expansion. However, investors have to be aware of the risks associated with distressed assets as the exits might not be easy.”
 

Technology remains the most popular sector in the PE market

The growing importance of technology has affected myriad industries. To meet the ever- changing demands for innovation and technology, acquisition of technology companies serves as a great opportunity in M&A strategy. New unicorns with financial technology will continue to emerge and attract growing interest from PE funds, especially in Asian countries.

Technology has remained the most sought-after sector for buyout funds in Asia, driven by the new investment opportunities unlocked in the transitioning Chinese economy and the alternative exit channel provided by the Science and Technology Innovation Board at the Shanghai Stock Exchange.
 
Mr. Tong continued, “Support from government is essential and will lead to a potential increase in investments or expansion in the technology sector going forward. As investors continue to pour money into the technology sector with too much money pursuing too few opportunities, the mismatch between abundant funds and limited opportunities could contribute to inflated and overvalued asset prices.”

Investors are confident about the Chinese market

US-China trade war has weighed on market sentiment and it is getting harder to raise fund due to market tightening. However, investors remain confident about the Chinese market and they expect continued growth in the domestic market.
 
The development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area and the Belt and Road Initiatives have continued to contribute to the Asian PE markets positively. Investors are still enthusiastic about investment in young companies. Capturing potential growth and expansion of young business are the top priorities for the Chinese dealmakers.

Mr. Tong concluded with his view on the prospect of the PE sector, “2019 was a year of turmoil for Chinese PE firms. In 2020, less competition from the affected PE firms may prove to be a boon for the well-established PE firms. Possible recession in core markets, US-China trade war and extreme market valuations are the major concerns for PE firms in 2020. We expect that top-notch and well-managed PEs will still manage to raise funds during times of turmoil. In order to bolster investment return amid heightened uncertainties over the global economy, we advise the fund managers to be more selective in their portfolio with an enhanced risk management regime.”



download Download Asia Private Equity Insights 2020
Contact us Phone:+86 10 85665858 Fax:+86 10 85665120 Email:china@cn.gt.com

[100004], 5th Floor, Scitech Palace 22 Jianguomen Wai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing

Location

致同会计师事务所最新发布的《2020亚洲私募股权投资洞察》指出,鉴于经济前景和地缘政治不确定性持续上升,加上全球经济增长放缓,2020年亚洲私募股权行业笼罩审慎气氛。新型冠状病毒肺炎爆发为中国带来沉重打击,期间的经济活动受到严重影响,并在全球产生连锁反应。但与此同时,中国政府采取开放政策欢迎外国投资,允许外资控股或外资独资企业在更多领域开展业务,使得中国市场仍具备一定的投资潜力。近年,作为中国市场的替代选择或补充方案,其他东南亚国家(包括泰国和越南)对私募股权公司的吸引力亦在逐渐上升。
 

新型冠状病毒肺炎爆发为新经济公司和医疗保健行业创造机会

新型冠状病毒肺炎爆发短期内或令中国经济增长放缓并影响融资活动,而中国内地前所未有的封闭隔离也将改变大众的消费习惯。数以百万计民众居家隔离,这为新经济公司,包括在线医疗咨询、在线娱乐、在线超市购物服务及在线教育等服务供应商提供了难得的机会。使它们可以吸引新用户并提高市场渗透率,从而有助缩短私募股权投资者的投资周期。
 
在疫情爆发期间,民众对医疗保健服务及药品的需求激增,进一步加速新兴医疗保健行业的增长。积极研发治疗新型冠状病毒肺炎及其他严重疾病疫苗的生物科技公司将获得更多的政府支持,并吸引私募股权基金的强烈投资兴趣。随着中国政府持续投资促进合成生物学发展,生物科技将成为医疗保健行业中重要的子板块。
 
过去十年,中产阶级对优质医疗的需求日趋殷切,令私募股权对亚洲医疗保健行业的投资显著增加。致同会计师事务所亚太区交易咨询服务联席负责人汤飚先生表示:“面对不确定且充满挑战的市场环境,私募股权公司仍能从诸多挑战中发掘新的机遇。预期未来数年,投资医疗行业尤其生物科技板块将是市场大趋势。共同投资策略(Co-investment strategies)将有助释放未来投资机会,并分散收购复杂资产的投资风险。”
 

投资者将重心转向不良资产以获取潜在丰厚回报      

在全球经济不景气的情况下,坏账问题日益显著。区内私募股权投资者对以折让价收购违约或处于破产保护下的公司兴趣日益浓厚。这类陷入困境的公司正逐渐成为富有吸引力的收购目标,投资者或新股东可借此机会重组目标公司业务,善价而沽从中获利。

汤飚表示:“对某些私募股权公司而言,现在不确定的经济环境也许是低价收购具有巨大潜力公司的良机。不良资产交易成为私募股权增长及扩张的重要工具。然而,由于退资可能并不容易,投资者必须留意不良资产的相关风险。”

科技板块仍是私募市场上最受欢迎的行业

科技的重要性日益提高,并对无数行业产生影响。不断变化的创新和科技需求令收购科技公司成为并购策略中的绝佳选择。掌握金融科技的独角兽企业将陆续出现,并吸引(尤其是亚洲国家)私募股权基金的兴趣。

中国经济转型产生新的投资机遇,加上上海证券交易所科创板提供了替代的退资通道,受这些因素影响,科技板块仍是最受亚洲收购基金(buyout fund)追捧的行业。

汤飚表示:“政府的支持尤为重要,可望带动未来科技板块投资或扩展的潜在增长。不过,投资者持续将资金投入科技行业,令市场资金太多,机会太少。充裕资金和有限机会之间的不匹配可能导致资产价格上涨或被高估。”

投资者对中国市场充满信心

尽管中美贸易战打击市场气氛,且市场银根收紧令募集资金越发困难,但投资者仍对中国市场充满信心,预计国内市场将会持续增长。
 
粤港澳大湾区发展及一带一路倡议将继续利好亚洲私募股权市场。投资者仍热衷于投资初创企业,把握初创企业的增长及扩张的潜力是中国交易商的首要目标。
 
关于私募股权行业的前景发展,汤飚总结:“对于中国私募股权公司而言,2019年是动荡的一年。踏入2020年,部分受影响的私募股权公司退出,市场竞争减少,这对发展成熟的私募股权公司而言是利好消息。核心市场可能出现的衰退、中美贸易战,以及极端的市场估值将是私募股权公司2020年的主要关注点。我们预计,即使处于动荡时期,管理完善的顶尖私募股权公司应仍能设法募集资金。我们建议基金经理审慎选择其投资组合,并加强风险管理机制,从而在全球经济不确定性加剧的情况下提高投资回报。”



download 下载《亚洲私募股权投资观点2020》(英文版)