In this year’s study, we have reviewed corporate governance matters relating to 483 Hang Seng Composite Index companies listed on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong (“HKEx”). In addition to board effectiveness, diversity and composition, risk management and internal controls, whistleblowing policies, specific topics addressed span from environmental, social and governance reporting to IT controls and cybersecurity. For the first time, we have also scrutinised remuneration for board members of Hong Kong listed companies and to the recent hot topics surrounding many businesses such as financial and technology focused companies whose use of personal data must satisfy the ever increasingly stringent data privacy regulations.
 
Effective from 1 January 2017, the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited’s new Environmental, Social and Governance (“ESG”) reporting requirement are about to enter the third year after regulatory amendments to the “comply or explain” provisions. This year, we continue to focus on how listed companies have responded to the upgrade of the KPIs in the“Environmental” Subject Area from recommended to “comply or explain” and more particularly on whether the style of ESG reporting are converging.

 
With the advancement in modern day microprocessor in terms of its size, processing power and the little in power that it consumes, the possibilities on the application of these technologies on businesses are endless. So this year, we have taken a more detailed look at the listed companies’ disclosure on how they leverage such technologies in their businesses. For example, artificial intelligence, cloud computing, blockchain and smartcontracts. Further, with the increase amount of personal data being collected, processed and retained by companies, this year’s report also takes a closer look at governance issues in the areas of data privacy.


download Download2018 Hong Kong Corporate Governance Review
Contact us Phone:+86 10 85665588 Fax:+86 10 85665120 Email:china@cn.gt.com

[100004], 5th Floor, Scitech Place 22 Jianguomen Wai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing

Location

在今年的調查中,我們檢閱了在香港聯合交易所(「聯交所」)上市的483間恒生綜合指數成分股公司的企業管治事宜。除董事會的工作績效、多元化及組成、風險管理及內部監控、內部舉報政策外,檢討範圍還涵蓋「環境、社會及管治」報告、資訊科技監控及網絡安全等專題。我們亦首次探討香港上市公司董事會成員的薪酬,以及近期圍繞眾多企業的熱點問題,例如金融及科技公司對個人資料的使用必須符合日趨嚴格的資料私隱規例。

香港聯合交易所有限公司有關「環境、社會及管治」報告的新規定由2017年1月1日起生效,這項新規定在對「不遵守就解釋」條文作出調整修訂之後即將踏入第三個年頭。今年,我們繼續關注上市公司如何應對「環境」主題的關鍵績效指標由建議披露提升至「不遵守就解釋」,尤其關注刊發「環境、社會及管治」報告的模式是否趨同。

近年微處理器在尺寸、處理能力及耗電量方面不斷取得進步,從而為企業運用這些技術創造了無限可能性。因此,我們今年更為詳盡地檢閱上市公司就如何將這些技術應用於其業務當中所作的披露,例如人工智能、雲端計算、區塊鏈及智能合約等。此外,隨著公司所收集、處理及管有的個人資料越來越多,今年的報告亦會更密切關注資料私隱方面的監管事宜。



download 下载《2018年香港企业管治调查报告》